UK Racing Results

Grand National Race History

Quite simply the Grand National is one of the most famous races in the sport of Horse Racing. It’s thought that the first Grand National was run all the way back in 1836 but there is some doubt about the accuracy of that year with records sketchy at best during that period. The race takes place at the world famous Aintree Racecourse over a stamina sapping distance of four miles four furlongs which makes it the ultimate test of endurance in the sport. There are also 30 famous Aintree fences to be jumped which are like no other which highlights just why the race is so popular with sports fans around the globe. In terms of prize money the Grand National is the richest National Hunt race in the UK with £975,000 on offer for the 2012 race.

Any horse that wins the Grand National Odds becomes a household name in the UK and there have been some legendary winners of the race down the years. Without question the most famous winner of the Grand National is Red Rum who dominated the race in the 70’s with no less than three wins and two second places to his name between 1973 and 1977. Red Rum remains the most recent horse to win the race back-to-back and the only horse ever to win three times with his last win as a 12 year old off of top weight particularly legendary.

In more recent years we have seen some excellent renewals of the National with some top class winners of the famous old race. One of the better National horses to emerge in the 21st century was Hedgehunter who won for Irish trainer Willie Mullins in 2005 before returning in 2006 to finish second behind Numbersixvalverde. The stand out name though on the list of recent Grand National winners is that of Mon Mome who famously won the race in 2009 as a 100/1 shot. The Venetia Williams trained horse became the longest price winner since Foinavon to the delight of the bookmakers and his name will forever be associated with the Grand National.

Recent Winners of the Grand National

  • 2017 – One For Arthur 14/1
  • 2016 – Rule the World 33/1
  • 2015 – Many Clouds 25/1
  • 2014 – Pineau De Re 25/1
  • 2013 – Auroras Encore 66/1
  • 2012 – Neptune Collonges 33/1
  • 2011 – Ballabriggs 14/1
  • 2010 – Don’t Push It 10/1jf
  • 2009 – Mon Mome 100/1
  • 2008 – Comply Or Die 7/1jf
  • 2007 – Silver Birch 33/1
  • 2006 – Numbersixvalverde 11/1
  • 2005 – Hedgehunter 7/1f
  • 2004 – Amberleigh House 16/1
  • 2003 – Montys Pass 16/1
  • 2002 – Bindaree 20/1
  • 2001 – Red Marauder 33/1
  • 2000 – Papillon 10/1