UK Racing Results

Ascot Gold Cup Race History

The Ascot Gold Cup is the premier race in the UK for the stayers on the flat and it takes place every season at the world famous Royal Ascot Meeting in June. The race takes place on the third day of the Royal Meeting and is run over a distance of two miles four furlongs which is a true test for flat horses. The race is open to thoroughbred horses aged four years and over and it forms one leg of the staying Triple Crown in the UK along with the Goodwood Cup and the Doncaster Cup. The race is one of the highlights of the flat season in the UK with many believing that it is the Blue Riband event of Royal Ascot with the grandstands packed on ladies day.

Some of the best staying horses in the history of the sport have won the Gold Cup at Ascot with one of the stand out names on the list being that of Sagaro who dominated the race during his prime. The French trained horse headed to England for the Royal Ascot Meeting to win the Gold Cup three years on the bounce between 1975 and 1977 to write his name into the record books. Henry Cecil was always a trainer to follow in the Gold Cup as he saddled four winners on the bounce between 1979 and 1982 with Le Moss and Ardross winning consecutive races each.

In more recent years we have seen Aidan O’Brien and his Ballydoyle stable dominate the Ascot Gold Cup with the Irish trainer saddling no less than five winners of the race since 2006. It has to be said though that most of that success has been down to one horse with the legendary Yeats winning the race on four consecutive occasions. When Yeats won his fourth Gold Cup on the bounce at Ascot racecourse in 2009 he became the most successful horse in the history of the race and his achievements earned him a statue at the Berkshire track. The success of Yeats has really given the Ascot Gold Cup a boost of recent years with the race now firmly back where it belongs as one of the great races on the British racing calendar.

Recent Winners of the Ascot Gold Cup

  • 2017 – Big Orange
  • 2016 – Order of St George
  • 2015 – Trip to Paris
  • 2014 – Leading Light
  • 2013 – Estimate
  • 2012 – Colour Vision
  • 2011 – Fame And Glory
  • 2010 – Rite Of Passage
  • 2009 – Yeats
  • 2008 – Yeats
  • 2007 – Yeats
  • 2006 – Yeats
  • 2005 – Westerner
  • 2004 – Papineau
  • 2003 – Mr Dinos
  • 2002 – Royal Rebel
  • 2001 – Royal Rebel
  • 2000 – Kayf Tara