UK Racing Results

Arc De Triomphe Race History

The Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe is Europe's most prestigious race and it takes place on the first Sunday in October at Longchamp race course in Paris. The race is often referred to as the Arc and is run over a distance of 1mile 4 furlongs making it the top middle distance race of the year in Europe. The Arc is the third richest horse race in the world on turf behind only the Melbourne Cup and the Japan Cup which highlights its significance to the sport. Comrade was the first winner of the Arc De Triomphe back in 1920 and it has gone from strength-to-strength ever since.

Some of the very best horses in the history of the race game have won the Arc during their career and the roll of honour really does highlight the quality of the race. It's somewhat surprising to see that only six horses have managed to win the race more than once with the last one being Alleged who won the Arc in 1977 and 1978. Plenty of horses have tried to repeat that trick since but so far no horse has managed to match the feat of the Vincent O'Brien trained charge. The most successful trainer in the history of the Arc is Andre Fabre who has managed to train the winner of the race on no less than seven occasions between 1987 and 2006 making him the man to follow from a betting point of view.

There have been a number of top class winners of the race since the turn of the century with one of the stand out names being Zarkava who won in some style in 2008. She became the first filly in 15 years to win the Arc for trainer Alain De Royer-Dupre as she ended her amazing career unbeaten. We had another winner of the highest quality in 2009 as the great Sea The Stars, which also won the Epsom Derby, ended a perfect season with a win at Longchamp after he was given a masterful ride by Mick Kinane. History shows us that it is the three year old horses that have the most success in the Arc with many trainers using the race as the ultimate target for horses during their classic season.

Recent Winners of the Arc De Triomphe

  • 2017 - Enable 10/11f
  • 2016 - Found Galileo 6/1
  • 2015 - Golden Horn 9/2
  • 2014 - Treve 11/1
  • 2013 - Treve 9/2
  • 2012 - Solemia 33/1
  • 2011 - Danedream 20/1
  • 2010 - Workforce 6/1
  • 2009 - Sea The Stars 4/6f
  • 2008 - Zarkava 13/8f
  • 2007 - Dylan Thomas 11/2
  • 2006 - Rail Link 8/1
  • 2005 - Hurricane Run 11/4
  • 2004 - Bago 10/1
  • 2003 - Dalakhani
  • 2002 - Marienbard
  • 2001 - Sakhee
  • 2000 - Sinndar