UK Racing Results

2000 Guineas Race History

The 2000 Guineas is the first classic race of the season in the UK and it takes place on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket Racecourse. The 2000 Guineas is open three-year old thoroughbred colts and fillies although it is extremely rare for the fillies to run against their male counterparts. The race is one of the oldest in the world having first been run all the way back in 1809 with the prize money for the 2012 race currently standing at a rather healthy £350,000. The 2000 Guineas forms the first part of the English Triple Crown with the Epsom Derby and the St Leger the other two races in the series. Trainers and owners dream of having a horse good enough to run in the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket while any horse that wins the race will be assured their place in horse racing history among the great names.

Some legendary horses have won the 2000 Guineas in their classic season with the early 1970’s a particularly strong era for the race. We saw the great Nijinsky win the Guineas in 1970 in good style with the horse going onto win the Derby and the St Leger in the same stunning season. Nijinsky remains the last horse to win the Triple Crown and his win on the Rowley Mile was his first step on that magical journey. The following year in 1971 we saw Brigadier Gerard claim the win in the 2000 Guineas ahead of Mill Reef in one of the most hotly anticipated renewals of the race. Brigadier Gerard ended his career with 17 wins from 18 starts with 12 of them coming at Group 1 level including his brilliant Guineas win which has to go down as one of the highlights.

In more recent years we have seen some excellent winners of the 2000Guineas with Sea The Stars a stand out name on the list. The John Oxx horse started the race as an 8/1 shot but he carved his way through the field like an odds on shot to begin what would become a legendary season in 2009. The horse remained unbeaten that year including the Derby and the Arc De Triomphe but it was on the Rowley Mile where we first saw his genius. The same can be said of Frankel who produced an astonishing front running win in 2011 to mark himself out as a potential superstar with the Guineas once again producing a wonderful moment for sports fans.

Recent Winners of the 2000 Guineas

  • 2017 - Churchill
  • 2016 – Galileo Golds
  • 2015 – Gleneagless
  • 2014 – Night of Thunders
  • 2013 – Dawn Approachs
  • 2012 – Camelot
  • 2011 – Frankel
  • 2010 – Makfi
  • 2009 – Sea The Stars
  • 2008 – Henrythenavigator
  • 2007 – Cockney Rebel
  • 2006 – George Washington
  • 2005 – Footstepsinthesand
  • 2004 – Haafhd
  • 2003 – Refuse To Bend
  • 2002 – Rock On Gibralter
  • 2001 – Golan